My (Soon-to-be) Life in Seoul, South Korea

BREAKING NEWS UPDATE: I e-mailed the international student advisor at Korea University (고려대학교) last week in hopes to hear some exciting news in regards to my exchange, and his answer managed to put a great BIG smile on my face. I’ll copy-paste the quote here to help confirm my excitement:

Dear Andrew,

We will send you a letter of acceptance along with other welcome package shortly by mid May. That welcome package will help you what you should do to prepare studying at KU.
Look forward to seeing you soon.

 

Albert CHOI”

I THINK that means I have been accepted, don’t you? I know my previous entries made it sound as if my acceptance was already confirmed, but it technically wasn’t until now! *throws hands gleefully into the air*

Korea University! *squeals*

So…Today is April 30th.
I haven’t been blogging as frequently as I had hoped, but I’m going to try to get back on the bandwagon.
That means, with my acceptance confirmed, I will be arriving in Seoul, South Korea  in approximately 112 days. (Not that I’m keeping track…)
Until then, I’m working for 20 VIC Management at the Halifax Shopping Centre as a Program/Event Coordinator for my first University co-op term.

My plan is to work as much as humanly possible until my departure date, so I can save a boatload of money to help me live comfortably in South Korea. I’m going to attempt to secure a job as an english tutor or find something on campus at KU (Korea University – 고려대학교) in order to keep food on the table.

With a decent part-time job, I can make sure the dinner table always looks something like this!

Now, considering I hope to be staying with a kind, loving host family for the first half of my exchange, I have a feeling the meals will be healthy, hearty and delicious – so long as I can afford the rent every month. I have already been in contact with one family, who would charge 500,000 KRW (about $500 CAN) a month – everything included. I would be asked to spend a half-hour studying English with the children in the evening, something I have no problem with. I love children, and would take it upon myself to do so anyway, even if it wasn’t expected.

I suppose it would be a good time to ask if any readers out there have experienced living with a host family in South Korea, or just living in general. It’s always good to hear positive and negative feedback, so any advice would be greatly appreicated!

I look forward to hearing some of your suggestions, and I will do my best to update my progress as often as I can.

Until next time…

Cheers,

앤드류

(P.S – If you’re interested, you can check out my youtube channel at youtube.com/maplesyrupandkimchi for a Vlog-esque version of what you see here – with infinitely more silly, goofy, outrageous behaviour… not really. I am a strange one, though, keep that in mind!)

One thought on “My (Soon-to-be) Life in Seoul, South Korea

  1. I just happened upon your blog through the eatyourkimchi fan page on facebook. I am always happy to see other Canadians excited about Korean culture, Language, Food, etc. 고려대 is a wonderful school. I’m looking at doing a summer language program either at 서울대 or 서강대 next year. Unfortunately 고려대 is just a little too much for my wallet. I hope you enjoy your time there, 앤드류 화이팅!

Leave a Reply

