HOW-TO: Introduce your family to traditional Korean cusine

Today is May 2nd, 2010.
My grandparents have been married for 46 years! That’s what you call true love and dedication.

To celebrate, I decided to cook them a somewhat traditional Korean meal, with all of the fixins.

When introducing newbies to Korean food, it’s best to stick with dishes that are well-recieved and loved by newcomers – that being the reason I chose to make: Bulgogi (불고기 ), Kimchi Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥), Mandu (만두) and Hobakjeon (호박전).

My mother came over to experience all the fuss, and didn’t seem disappointed with the selection.

I will say,  I tried to teach them to use chopsticks but failed miserably. They gave up after 30 seconds, threw down the chopsticks in a giggle-filled rage and began to tear through the meal with a fork and knife.

It was entertaining to watch them try to figure out what they were eating in the beginning, but once they got halfway through, they began to realize why I love Korean food, and more importantly, Korean culture as a whole. I explained to them the process of cooking the food, the amount of time and care that goes into preparation and how it is worth every last bite.

I’ll let the pictures tell the rest of the story!

Until next time, folks!

초은 밤 보네! (Have a good night!)

– 앤드류

Nothing beats the smell of bulgogi cooking... Mmmm, Delicious.

Most of the ingredients required to put this dinner together.

A healthy, hearty and heartfelt meal - made with lots and lots of love.

2 thoughts on “HOW-TO: Introduce your family to traditional Korean cusine

  1. I know what you mean about the whole acceptance of different culture food. Being that I’m half korean a lot of my friends give me that google-eye when i’m eating kimchi or duk boki. “Uhhh…what is that??” – I’m statting to get used to that sentence..hahaha. Congrats on getting accepted!! I know that’s got to be very exciting for you!! Hopefully in a couple of years I’ll be an english teacher there…😛 (I’m working on getting my teaching degree with a minor in korean)
    Keep up the good work on your blog!

    • Indeed!

      In my situation, considering my family background is predominately Scottish-Canadian, a lot of people tend to give a confused look when I’m muching on bibimbap covered in with gochujang or plowing gracefully through jayeuk bokeum or ddeokbokki using metal chopsticks.

      I honestly can’t get enough of Korean food – it’s so delicious! I can’t wait to arrive in Seoul and thankfully the food will be a lot cheaper… it’s too expensive to eat on a regular basis in Halifax – even buying Korean ingredients can cost a pretty penny.

      A lot of my friends are afraid to give it a try in the beginning, but warm up to it when they give it a second chance!

      As far as teaching in Seoul, I would love to do so after I graduate from my program, and I’d also love to get a job working for the Canadian Embassy in Seoul, something incorporating my Public Relations degree!

      Thanks for the postive feedback, I’m always glad to hear it!🙂

Leave a Reply

