Precious, Precious Time! What to do with your last few weeks at home?

Yum... The "Breakfast of Champions"! This is what I usually eat on a regular basis for breakfast!

When the departure date was more than a few months away, I didn’t feel any sense of urgency whatsoever.
BUT, now that I am a mere week and a half away from starting my one-year exchange, I’m starting to feel that pressure and anxiety that I didn’t really notice or feel a few months back.

I now realize that I only have a week and a half to say my goodbyes, see the people I need to see, buy anything I need to bring along with me, pack, finish a work term paper and mentally prepare for the adventure of a lifetime. It will all be worth it, though, when I finally land in South Korea and take the first step into the next chapter of my life!

So, what should one do with with their last few weeks at home? What are the most important things to make sure you do before leaving home behind for a little while

WELL, your list is obviously going to differ from mine, but I’ll tell you (in a nutshell) what I plan on doing with my precious, precious time:

1. I will try to see and spend time with as MANY of my friends as I possibly can.
2. I am going to make a point of spending oodles of time with family, close relatives and loved ones.
3. I shall eat lots and lots of typical Canadian cuisine that I may not be able to find in Korea.
4. I should stock up on instant oatmeal, maple syrup and other brand name products I love.
5. It would be smart to buy uniquely Canadian products/treats to share with my friends upon arrival.
6. Last but not least, I should go for a walk through downtown  and the surrounding areas of Halifax and soak up all of the sights, smells and sounds – since I won’t be able to for the next little while.

 

~A quick tip for anyone leaving home for a while: plan to spend an evening at one of you favourite pubs. Invite all of your friends and family to come out and share a beer or some snacks with you, which will also make it eaiser to be sure you say goodbye to everyone! (It is far too difficult to make seperate plans with everyone, so this step is one of the most important ones!)    

I’m sure there’s so much more I’m going to do with the short stretch of time that remains, but the most important thing to is to make sure that you wrap your arms around everyone who is near and dear to your heart, because you’re not going to be able to see their beautiful faces for quite some time.

It’s important to realize that Korea is pretty far away from home, and that you won’t be able to come home until the exchange is complete. I have come to terms with the fact that Christmas, Thanksgiving, My Birthday – everything will be celebrated while I’m away. But, to be honest, I’m looking forward to experiencing a different way to celebrate these holidays. I have been celebrating them the same way, for the past 22 years. It’s about time I switched it up!

Anyway, this is sort of a summary of everything that has happened thus far, and a quick hint of what is to come. I plan on updating my blog every Sunday, with new stories, adventures and pictures to share. There will always be something new and exciting to talk about, and I want to keep all of my loved ones and friends at home, in the loop.

Please know that any of you who are reading this now from Halifax, I will miss ALL of you SO much.
But, I will be back before you know it! Please keep checking the blog weekly for new updates.

If I get excited or pumped up about something, I might blog more frequently, but I will make sure to do it at least ONCE a week.

Sweet, delicious buttermilk pancakes! Smothered with 100% Pure Canadian Maple Syrup! Another thing I'm really going to miss! I guess I'll have to settle for Hotteok! YUM!

My next post will be about how I plan on packing my life into two suitcases, what I’m bringing along, what I’m leaving behind and I will also include my final goodbyes before taking off to South Korea!

Until then, stay cool!

Yours truly,

Andrew

2 thoughts on “Precious, Precious Time! What to do with your last few weeks at home?

  1. I think you are amazing Andrew, I will miss you so much, but know that this will be the adventure of a lifetime..I am so very proud of you.
    Love you with all my heart
    Mom xoxoxo

  2. Hey Andrew, I leave for Seoul on August 18th!

    Definitely looking forward to the rest of your posts, especially the packing one, as I am in the same predicament.

Leave a Reply

