How to: Pack your entire life into two suitcases, a carry-on and a personal bag!

My luggage - all packed and ready to go!

The time has finally come to say goodbye to Halifax.
I’m leaving for Seoul, South Korea in a matter of hours!
I can’t wait to take the next step on the adventure of a lifetime!

BUT – there’s something I still have to finish doing before I can go…You got it! I have to finish PACKING MY BAGS!

(Okay, you caught me, I’m pretty much already finished, I just wanted to let everyone know about the packing process I took, and I figured I would offer up a few tips that might make packing a those of you who are going away from home for a long period of time, too!)
 

SO, how do you pack your life into two suitcases, one carry-on and a personal bag!?

Here are some tips and tricks to help make packing a less painful process:

1. Try to buy unique luggage that stands out and is easy to identify as your own. Picking plain, black suitcases is a sure fire way to spend an extra hour at the airport trying to pick out which ones are yours. It’s also important to label all of your luggage, and you can also consider tying a ribbon or fabric to the top – anything that makes claiming your luggage eaiser is always a good idea!

2. When packing your clothes, roll them up instead of stuffing them in. Stuffing causes serious frustration and you won’t be able to fit nearly as much into the suitcase!

3. Don’t pack too many heavy items.  I had to choose a few books to leave behind, as much as I wanted to have them with me while I’m away – they might end up costing you additional fees for luggage that exceeds the limit!
 

4. Avoid bringing things you REALLY won’t be needing – you’ll just end up lugging it all back with you. Fill up more of the space in your luggage with small gifts and trinkets from home. People you meet will appreicate getting something special from away and you won’t have to bring any of it home, that way you’ll have space to bring things back that you buy while you’re away!

5. Try to avoid bringing anything that can or may explode in your luggage. I suggest avoiding juices, glass bottles, shaving creams… anything that might be able to destroy and ruin everything in your suitcase.

6.  Don’t forget to make 3 copies of your passport, visa, health insurance, flight ticket/itenerary. Bring copies with you in your carry-on, pack some in your luggage and leave copies at home with someone you trust, just in case you lose something or run into any problems along the way!

 7. Pack as LIGHT as possible. This can be hard, especially if you’re going away for an extended period of time, but you can do it! Just try to avoid bringing things that you REALLY don’t need. I know it’s hard to let go, I’m the worst example, but I let go of some of my favourite things and realized they’ll still be here when I come back!

8. Last but not least, have fun packing! Think about all of the exciting things you’re going to be doing while you’re away. You’ll hardly be thinking about the things you brought with you. The whole point of travelling is to leave your life behind for a while and be adventurous! Most people that travel tell me they regret bringing so much stuff when they go, so bring only the essentials! *(I keep repeating this, but it’s important to take it to heart!)*

It serves well as a subsitute for sugar in coffee, tea, cooking - everything!

OH YEAH!
And if you’re Canadian, and you’re going anywhere in Asia, consider bringing a bottle of Maple Syrup!
It’s cheap at home, but it can cost you an arm and a leg if you decide to buy it while you’re there. A lot of people give it away as a gift, too! Just make sure you wrap it up in plastic and a towel, just in case it decides to break on you!

Well folks, this is my last and final blog post from Halifax.
From now on, I’m going to be blogging and youtubing from Seoul, South Korea. If any readers are going to be in Seoul, please feel free to message me or leave me a comment on youtube. I would love to meet up and meet some new friends!

Farewell Halifax, I will miss you dearly. Home is where the heart is and I will never forget where I come from. On the other hand, my new life in Seoul will be full of exciting, unforgettable adventures. I have never been so excited and nervous at the same time about something before, but I’m ready for the journey of a lifetime to begin! Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “How to: Pack your entire life into two suitcases, a carry-on and a personal bag!

  1. Hahahaha you are an expert now hun. So organized! cannot wait to read more of your adventure in Asia😀 Take care and be ready for the ” culture shock” XO

  2. Actually, I’m moving permanently from one country to another, but your advice is well taken. My biggest issue is that I have a very heavy photo frame that my son gave me – I’m thinking that the photo itself is important, so leave the frame behind. I have had to downsize through Goodwill, etc., but it’s always good to read how others downsize

Leave a Reply

